Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Bach Partitas: No. 1 in B flat major

Sunday 10 September 2023, 2:30 pm - 3:45 pm

J.S. Bach’s Partitas BWV 825-830, the first of which is the composer’s self-proclaimed Opus 1, form part of his Clavier-Übung I that was published in 1731. There is a substantial body of evidence that suggest that these works were rather popular when first published, something that we believe remains true today. These six works for keyboard exist as part Bach’s hefty compositional corpus, and are all functional, bespoke, and beautiful.

Join the Oxford Bach Soloists for a series of six concerts, with these exquisite compositions acting as their golden thread.

Anhad Arora, harpsichord

Gibbons O Lord in thy wrath
Telemann Schau nach Sodom nicht zurücke, TWV 1:1243
Gallus Repleatur os meum
Bach Christe eleison (from Mass in C minor by Francesco Durante, arranged by J. S. Bach BWV Anh. 26)
Bach Wir eilen mit schwachen, doch emsigen Schritten (from Jesu, der du meine Seele, BWV 78)
Bach Partita in B flat major, BWV 825
Bach Ach, wo hol ich Armer Rat & O Jesu, lieber Meister (from Es ist nichts Gesundes an meinem Leibe, BWV 25)
Buxtehude Cantate Domino canticum novum, BuxWV 12
Bach Sieh meinen Willen an & Wie sich ein Vat’r erbarmet (from Wer Dank opfert, der preiset mich, BWV 17 


Sunday 10 September 2023
2:30 pm - 3:45 pm


New College Chapel
Holywell Street
Oxford, OX1 3BN
+ Google Map

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.