Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Bach Cantatas: Music for the Dukes

Sunday 4 March 2018, 3:15 pm - 4:15 pm

Free – $15

JS Bach
Orchestral Suite No. 1 in C major, BWV 1066
Alles, was von Gott geboren (All that is born of God), BWV 80a
Himmelskönig, sei willkommen (King of Heaven, welcome), BWV 182

Bach’s thrilling Orchestral Suite in C major, full of surprises and unexpected fun, is the opener to this concert which includes some of his earliest cantatas. These were composed in service to the Weimar dukes at the legendary ‘Schlosskirche’ (Castle Church).

Cantata 80a is a reconstruction of a (now lost) first version of his famous Reformation blockbuster ‘Ein feste Burg’. The intimately scored Cantata 182, written for Palm Sunday, points towards the events of Good Friday and Easter, depicting the arrival of Christ riding into Jerusalem on a donkey.



Sunday 4 March 2018
3:15 pm - 4:15 pm
Free – $15


New College Chapel
Holywell Street
Oxford, OX1 3BN
+ Google Map

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.